In This Section

Board of Directors

Executive Bios

Inderpreet S Wadhwa

Founder, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer

Inderpreet Wadhwa is one of the most prominent thought leaders in the Indian solar industry. A renewable energy enthusiast with more than 20 years of experience in technology and infrastructure businesses, Inderpreet founded Azure Power in 2008. Through his work, he strives to have a direct and positive social impact in terms of improving the quality of life in rural India.

Prior to founding Azure Power, Inderpreet served as a vice president of Loyalty Lab and as a senior director of Oracle Corporation. Additionally, Inderpreet has been a member of the Private Sector Advisory Group (PSAG) to the Green Climate Fund (GCF). Inderpreet received his bachelor’s degree in electronics engineering in 1994 from Guru Nanak Dev University, Punjab, India. He also graduated from Haas School of Business at University of California Berkeley in 2002.

H. S. Wadhwa

Director and Chief Operating Officer

Harkanwal Singh Wadhwa heads the utilities business unit of the organization and focuses on project development and the internal operations of the company. Prior to joining Azure Power, Mr. Wadhwa served as Chief Managing Director of National Insurance Limited. He has over 40 years of experience in the financial services industry in India. He has served on the boards of General Insurance Corporation of India, India International Insurance Private Limited-Singapore, Loss Prevention Association of India Limited and several other companies. He has extensive experience with the regulatory framework in India.

Robert Kelly


From October 2011 to August 2014, Robert Kelly served as the chief financial officer of SolarCity Corporation in San Mateo, California. From August 2009 to October 2011, he served as chief financial officer of Calera Corporation, a clean technology company. Prior to that, he served as an independent consultant providing financial advice to retail energy providers and power developers and also served in various senior leadership roles at Westinghouse Credit Corporation, Lloyds Bank and The Bank of Nova Scotia. Mr. Kelly served as chief financial officer and executive vice president of Calpine Corporation, an independent power producer, from March 2002 to November 2005, as president of Calpine Finance Company from March 2001 to November 2005, and held various financial management roles with Calpine from 1991 to 2001. Mr. Kelly is also a member of the board of directors of Solar Mosaic Inc., a U.S. residential solar lending platform, and Solix Biosystems, Inc., a specialty algae products company. He holds a Bachelor's degree in Commerce from Memorial University of Newfoundland and an MBA from Dalhousie University, Canada.

Arno Harris


Arno Harris founded Recurrent Energy, one of North America's largest solar project developers, in 2006. He is a former founder and CEO of Prevalent Power, Inc. and played a key role in starting various companies including RedEnvelope, and Novo Media Group, Inc. Mr Harris serves as a board member of Advanced Energy Economy Institute, board member emeritus and former board chair of the Solar Energy Industry Association. Mr Harris chairs the Leadership Council of Tipping Point, a grant-making organization dedicated to making poverty preventable and serves as an appointee to the Proposition 39 Citizens Oversight Board. Mr. Harris is a graduate of UC Berkeley.

Sanjeev Aggarwal


Sanjeev Aggarwal is a co-founder of Helion Venture Partners and has served on the boards of Amba Research, MakeMyTrip Limited and UnitedLex Corporation. He is currently on the boards of IndiaHomes, Eye-Q Vision Private Limited, Clues Networks Inc. and Big Basket. Prior to Helion Venture Partners, Mr. Aggarwal was the founder and chief executive officer of Daksh. Earlier, he worked for 15 years with leading technology companies serving the domestic Indian market. Mr. Aggarwal led the strategic initiatives at Motorola India and has worked with Digital Equipment Corporation in delivering technology solutions. He has also served as the chief executive officer of 3COM India.

Barney Rush


Since 2013, Barney S. Rush has served on the board of ISO – New England, the electric grid and wholesale market operator for six U.S. states. Since November 2015, Mr Rush has also been the Senior Representative of Fieldstone Africa, an investment bank raising capital for power projects in Africa. From July 2010 to December 2013, he served as an Operating Partner at Denham Capital Management, L.P., and from July 2003 to November 2009, he served as the CEO of H2Gen Innovations, Inc., a venture capital backed start-up which developed and manufactured skid-mounted hydrogen generators. In addition, Mr. Rush was Group CEO of Mirant Europe from August 1999 to May 2002, and Chairman of the Supervisory Board of Bewag, the electric utility serving Berlin, Germany, from December 1997 to March 2002. Mr. Rush holds a Bachelor’s degree in Social Studies from Harvard College and a Master’s degree in Public Affairs from Woodrow Wilson School of Princeton University.

Cyril Cabanes


Cyril Cabanes is the Vice-President, Head of Infrastructure Transactions, Asia-Pacific at Caisse de dépôt et placement du Québec (CDPQ). He has over 19 years of experience across all facets of infrastructure transactions including acquisitions, financing and fundraising. This includes his term at Marubeni Corp., where he led the Asian IPP investment team in Singapore. Previously, Cyril was Director and Portfolio Manager at Deutsche Bank, where he was responsible for acquisitions, capital raising and product development for Asia-Pacific. Prior to that, Cyril spent 10 years in investment banking and financial markets with RBS, BNP Paribas and UBS. Cyril holds a Masters from ESCP-Europe and an MBA from Drexel University.